ARRT GENRE STUDY WEBSITE

CLICK HERE for quick access to the materials for the 2016-17 Speculative Fiction Genre Study.
The website now features UNRESTRICTED access, including notes from our meetings; however, in order to attend the meetings in person, you must be a member of ARRT. Click here for information about how you can join.

RA FOR ALL...THE ROAD SHOW!

I can come to your library, book club meeting, or conference to talk about how to help your readers find their next good read. Click here for more information.

Monday, May 11, 2009

Read Alikes on NoveList and BPL Website

NoveList has posted my Read Alike article on Jonathan Lethem. I don't know about other states, but in Illinois, the state library makes NoveList Plus available to all public libraries for a very nominal fee.

The NoveList Read Alike articles are detailed and extensive, including an essay by leading readers' advisors as to exactly why readers enjoy the specific author and others they may enjoy and why. These articles are among the most popular features on NoveList. Berwyn cardholders can access NoveList at any time by clicking here.

On the Berwyn Library website, we have also begun to offer a simplified version of read alikes to our patrons who need just a quick list of authors. Click here to see our growing list of authors. RA staff members take our most popular authors and create lists of other authors who share similar appeal factors. Here is the direct link to my list of read alike authors for the genre bending Jonathan Lethem.

The entire staff has been working hard to create the lists, all as part of our larger effort to anticipate our patrons' needs on the web. However, beyond helping our patrons, Briana and I have been working on having Google pick-up our lists when readers, anywhere, search for their own read alikes.

I am happy to report that after a few months, we have been successful. Now if you search "If you like Jonathan Lethem try" or "Lee Child read alikes" in Google, the BPL read alike offering appear on the first page of results. You can try it for any of our authors.

Please feel free to use our lists to help your patrons. But remember, for more detailed information, turn to NoveList.

No comments: