ARRT GENRE STUDY WEBSITE

CLICK HERE for quick access to the materials for the 2016-17 Speculative Fiction Genre Study.
The website now features UNRESTRICTED access, including notes from our meetings; however, in order to attend the meetings in person, you must be a member of ARRT. Click here for information about how you can join.

RA FOR ALL...THE ROAD SHOW!

I can come to your library, book club meeting, or conference to talk about how to help your readers find their next good read. Click here for more information.

Thursday, July 14, 2011

Harry Potter Readalikes for Grownups

So this is the end.  The final Harry Potter movie comes out today.  The books are flying off the shelves again too.  In fact, at the BPL on Monday, the YS Department took all of the extra copies of the series out of storage and they are going fast.

Over the years from the start of the Harry Potter mania, Adult Services librarians like myself have worked hard to create lists of adult readalikes for the series.  Today, I will compile some of those lists, both old and new, for you

Studies show that J. K. Rowling inspired many more people to start reading with her captivating series, both kids and adults.  Use this momentum to pass on other great reads to your patrons.  They need you to help them to know that there are lots of great books for them beyond just Harry Potter. These lists will help you to get them pointed in the right direction.

No comments: