ARRT GENRE STUDY WEBSITE

CLICK HERE for quick access to the materials for the 2016-17 Speculative Fiction Genre Study.
The website now features UNRESTRICTED access, including notes from our meetings; however, in order to attend the meetings in person, you must be a member of ARRT. Click here for information about how you can join.

RA FOR ALL...THE ROAD SHOW!

I can come to your library, book club meeting, or conference to talk about how to help your readers find their next good read. Click here for more information.

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

A Look Back at 2015 in NoveList-- An Why It Will Help You Serve Patrons Better Whether or Not You Subscribe

NoveList sent out their year end report to anyone who subscribes to their NoveList News Newsletter. I was very excited to see this snap shot of what people searched in the database over the course of a year for a few reasons, which I will get to in a second, but first, I had a nice surprise.

As you will see if you click here or read the entire post below, my "It's All About That Frame" article was #3 on the list of the TOP 10 Newsletter Articles or Blog Posts.  I really enjoyed writing that one and sharing this important appeal issue with everyone, so thank you all for reading it. [I also liked giving it the super cheesy title; well I might have liked that part a little too much. Thank goodness my wonderful editor Krista liked it too.]

Now enough about me. Here is why every single library worker who helps leisure reader of any age need to read this look back at 2015-- even more than you need to read any best list [although earlier this month I did have this post on how to properly use the onslaught of best lists to help you to help patrons and look smart]. One of the biggest problems libraries bring to me is that they are having trouble getting their leisure reading patrons to start talking to them about what they want or like.  A lot of my training is about how to begin engaging the public in a conversation about reading.

This is hard because many patrons don't realize that we are there to help them find a good read-- an issue I bring up on this blog frequently. As a result, it can be a slow go for many libraries. The staff are actively trying to build their skills but they are not sure exactly where to begin using these enhanced skills on patrons. They need to know what their patrons like and are looking for in order to help them to identify places to insert themselves into the conversation. But if the patrons won't talk to them about their leisure reading preferences, how can they start.  Arrrggh. It can be a vicious circle of failure.

Never fear though, this article will stop the negative cycle.

Well, here is a snap shot of the national picture of what people are searching right here!  What NoveList has compiled is the titles, appeal terms, list, and more that were the most searched on their database in 2015.  It doesn't matter if librarians or patrons were the ones doing the searching because these items were searched for a reason.  Somewhere a patron spurred the search.

So look at this lists below as the issues, appeal terms, titles, etc... that were the most important to readers in 2015.  Now even if you tried and tried and still could not get RA conversations going with your patrons at your libraries, you still have data and patron driven info to help you plan for 2016. In fact, now you have more ammo on what to begin the conversation with. Try out one of the most popular titles or appeals as you engage a reader in a conversation about books. You will surprise him or her with how well you "know them."

Again, you do not need a subscription to NoveList to see what the American reader is most interested in. Now it is your job [with my help] to see where you can enter the equation and be a RA superstar.

_______________________________

All Wrapped Up: A Look Back at 2015

Post by Cassi Hall
Posted November 19, 2015 in NextReadsNoveList Plus
NoveList SpotLight Image
As we approach the end of this year and start heading into the next, it’s good to pause and reflect on all the great things about the year we’re leaving behind. So without further ado, let’s take a look at some of the most popular lists, articles, appeal terms, and more in NoveList and LibraryAware from 2015. 

Top 10 Most Searched Titles in NoveList

YA books aren’t just for teens -- readers of all ages love these titles! These were the 10 most often accessed titles in NoveList:
  1. The Hunger Games
  2. The Maze Runner
  3. The Fault in Our Stars
  4. Teeny Little Grief Machines
  5. The Last Leaves Falling
  6. Diary of a Wimpy Kid
  7. Wonder
  8. Go Set a Watchman
  9. Divergent
  10. Finding Ruby Starling

Top 10 Recommended Reads Lists for Adults

You don’t need to be Sherlock Holmes to see that NoveList users love their mysteries! These lists received the most clicks:
  1. Best Of Fiction A-Z 2014
  2. Best Historical Fiction of 2014
  3. Best Mysteries of 2014
  4. Getting Cozy
  5. Classic Mysteries
  6. Best Thrillers & Suspense of 2014
  7. Police Procedurals
  8. Best Fantasy of 2014
  9. Classic Historical Fiction
  10. By the Book

Top 5 Recommended Reads Lists for Teens

Dystopian fiction is still on top for teen readers. Here are the lists with the most clicks:
  1. Best Of Teen Fiction 2014
  2. 2015 Mid-Year Teen Faves
  3. Contemporary Teen Romance
  4. Dystopias
  5. If You Like…The Hunger Games

Top 5 Recommended Reads Lists for Older Kids

Older kids were looking for laughs in 2015. These are the most frequently used lists:
  1. Best Of Older Kids Fiction 2014
  2. 2015 Mid-Year Older Kids Faves
  3. If You Like…Diary of a Wimpy Kid
  4. If You Like…Harry Potter
  5. Laugh Out Loud

Top 10 Character Appeal Terms

From flawed to sympathetic, NoveList users loved searching for a wide range of characters to read about! Here are the character appeals with the most titles attached to them. Want to know more about appeals?
  1. Flawed
  2. Complex
  3. Likeable
  4. Well-developed
  5. Authentic
  6. Quirky
  7. Strong female
  8. Sympathetic
  9. Introspective
  10. Spirited

Top 10 Newsletter Articles & Blog Posts

2015 was the year of Nonfiction and Storytime for our newsletter subscribers. These were the most clicked on articles. Sign up now if you don’t already receive our newsletter.
  1. Nonfiction Read-alikes for Fiction Bestsellers
  2. Help Patrons Find the Book They Never Knew They Were Looking For
  3. It’s All About That Frame
  4. Venturing into New Territories: High Interest Adult Nonfiction for YA Readers
  5. Reading Science Fiction for Pleasure
  6. How to Choose Great Storytime Books
  7. Storytime Toolbox
  8. Funny Women: Getting a Laugh in a Man’s World
  9. Give Them Goosebumps (Or Something Like It)
  10. Romance for Non-Romance Readers

Top 5 Favorite LibraryAware Designs

We loved these designs LibraryAware users made this year!
  1. Book Face
  2. Read a Graphic Novel
  3. Family Storytime
  4. Anti-Dystopian YA
  5. Libraries & Librarians in Fiction

Top 5 NextReads Newsletters

These are the NextReads newsletters with the most overall subscribers.
  1. Fiction A-Z                          
  2. Mystery                                              
  3. Thrillers and Suspense  
  4. NY Times Fiction                              
  5. Historical Fiction
What were some of your favorite things from NoveList this year? We’d love to hear about them in the comments.

No comments: