ARRT GENRE STUDY WEBSITE

CLICK HERE for quick access to the materials for the 2016-17 Speculative Fiction Genre Study.
The website now features UNRESTRICTED access, including notes from our meetings; however, in order to attend the meetings in person, you must be a member of ARRT. Click here for information about how you can join.

RA FOR ALL...THE ROAD SHOW!

I can come to your library, book club meeting, or conference to talk about how to help your readers find their next good read. Click here for more information.

Friday, May 13, 2016

Library Reads: June 2016

Here is your monthly reminder that the Library Reads list is out.  These are the librarian picks for June 2016.

Don't forget, from a helping leisure readers perspective, the past Library Reads lists are a lifeline. Every list combined offers hundreds of pre-approved titles for every type of reader, complete with their own soundbite booktalk, and the kicker, the further you go back, the more chance these great reads are on your shelves...RIGHT NOW!

Click here to access all of the lists in reverse chronological order here on RA for All.

And finally, shout out to Darren from Sno-Isle who wrote the annotation for Grunt. I had a very nice time meeting him at BEA yesterday. 

Vinegar Girl:
A Novel

by Anne Tyler

Published:6/21/2016 by Hogarth
ISBN: 9780804141260
“The newest entry in the Hogarth Shakespeare series brings The Taming of the Shrew into the modern world. Kate is stuck in a life taking care of her absent minded professor father and her sister, Bunny. When her father suggests a marriage of convenience in order to secure a green card for his lab assistant Pyotr, Kate is shocked. This is a sweet and humorous story about two people, who don’t quite fit in, finding each other. Tyler’s wonderful writing updates and improves on the original.”
Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA
InvisibleLibrary blog

The Invisible Library

by Genevieve Cogman

Published: 6/14/2016 by Roc
ISBN: 9781101988640
“Directed by powerful librarians, agents roam alternate realities searching out special volumes for their mysterious library’s collections. Irene is a spy for the library but something is a little off about her current mission; there’s something strange about her new assistant that she can’t quite put her finger on and worse, the requested volume has already been stolen. Cogman’s engaging characters and a most intriguing imagined world are sure to delight readers, especially bibliophiles.”
Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY

UndertheHarrow blog

Under the Harrow:
A Novel

by Flynn Berry

Published: 6/14/2016 by Penguin Books
ISBN: 9780143108573
“Nora leaves London to visit her sister, Rachel, in the countryside often. But this trip is different – a silent house, a dead dog hanging from the railing and so much blood. Nora stays, trying to help the police solve the case. She thinks it might have something to do with the unsolved attack on Rachel when she was just a teen but it could be someone new. This story is thrilling and quietly gripping. We become as obsessed as Nora in finding her sister’s killer and what if he strikes again?”
Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX


Grunt blog

Grunt: The Curious Science of Humans at War

by Mary Roach

Published: 6/7/2016 by W.W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 9780393245448
“With courageous curiosity, journalistic persistence, and a wry empathetic sense of humor, Roach once again delves into a fascinating topic few of us would openly explore. She writes about the issues confronting the military in its attempt to protect and enable combat troops. Roach brings to our attention the amazing efforts of science to tackle all the challenges of modern warfare. Grunt is another triumph of sometimes uncomfortable but fascinating
revelation.”
Darren Nelson, Sno-Isle Libraries, Marysville, WA


Homegoing blog

Homegoing: A Novel

by Yaa Gyasi

Published: 6/7/2016 by Knopf
ISBN: 9781101947135
“An engaging family saga following two half-sisters – one who marries into privilege and one sold into slavery – and their descendants as they navigate the politics of their separate countries and their heritage. Each is directly affected in some way by the choices of the past, and finding the parallels in the triumphs and heartbreak makes for an engrossing read.”
Amanda Monson, Bartow County Library System, Cartersville, GA


MissingPresumed blog

Missing, Presumed: A Novel

by Susie Steiner

Published: 6/28/2016 by Random House
ISBN: 9780812998320
“This is a thoughtful police procedural about a missing person case and the secrets that come to the surface when a feisty detective becomes relentless in finding the truth. Edith is a successful college student from a well-known family, but all is not what it seems. Detective Manon Bradshaw is feeling the pressure to quickly resolve the case. What sets this apart from other detective stories is how the lead character is brought to life; she exposes her melancholy and it adds a satisfying mix to the thrills. Recommended for fans of Tana French.”
Andrienne Cruz, Azusa City Library, Azusa, CA


Stiletto: A Novel

by Daniel O’Malley

Published: 6/14/2016 by Little, Brown and Company
ISBN: 9780316228046
“In the long-awaited sequel to The Rook, negotiations between two highly secret organizations, one based on science and reason and the other on the supernatural, are continuing. Odette and Pawn both come to the forefront of the story as we get more of the history of the groups and why mortal enemies would want to join forces. With its blend of intricate world-building and fantastical situations, Stiletto both surprised me and made me laugh.”
Mary Bell, Wilbraham Public Library, Wilbraham, MA


WeCouldBeBeautiful blog

We Could Be Beautiful: A Novel

by Swan Huntley
Published: 6/28/2016 by Doubleday
ISBN: 9780385540599

“Wealthy art collector Catherine spends her time fussing over her tiny boutique card shoppe so that she can feel like a productive member of society. She meets the handsome and refined William Stockton, yet something seems just a little too good to be true. The plot thickens as long hidden family secrets emerge. Huntley certainly knows how to build up the suspense. This debut novel includes some nice plot twists and Catherine’s character evolves favorably. Recommended for fans of psychological fiction.”
Mary Vernau, Tyler Public Library, Tyler, TX


lily-and-the-octopus blog

Lily and the Octopus

by Steven Rowley

Published: 6/7/2016 by Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781501126222
“Rowley has lovingly captured what it is like to be totally invested in caring for another life, another heart. This book is a true gift for anyone who has experienced the loss of a dog, but especially for those of us who have nursed a beloved dog through an illness even though you both knew it was going to be a losing battle. A special bond is formed there, and the story of Lily and Ted illustrates it so perfectly.”
Mary Coe, Fairfield Woods Branch Library, Fairfield, CT


widowmaker blog

Widowmaker: A Novel

by Paul Doiron

Published: 6/14/2016 by Minotaur Books
ISBN: 9781250063700
“Doiron delivers a novel of intensifying suspense. The brooding and flawed Bowditch deals with a newly revealed family secret that sets him off on a search for the truth. His personal mission leads him into danger as he chases a vigilante through the wintry Maine woods. Doiron perfects his storytelling with a richly detailed setting and admirable sense of timing. You’ll want to go back to the previous Bowditch adventures while awaiting the next installment. Highly recommended for fans of Nevada Barr and C.J. Box.”
Mamie Ney, Auburn Public Library, Auburn, ME

2 comments:

Danielle croft said...

I wish there was a way to email or share a particular book I see that I want to read or suggest to my patrons. It's possible on Kirkus Reviews and it's so helpful. But don't know if you have that option. Just wishing.

Becky said...

If you go to the Library Reads page you should be able to do that or ask them how to do it. I simply repost their list. Great idea though.