ARRT GENRE STUDY WEBSITE

CLICK HERE for quick access to the materials for the 2016-17 Speculative Fiction Genre Study.
The website now features UNRESTRICTED access, including notes from our meetings; however, in order to attend the meetings in person, you must be a member of ARRT. Click here for information about how you can join.

RA FOR ALL...THE ROAD SHOW!

I can come to your library, book club meeting, or conference to talk about how to help your readers find their next good read. Click here for more information.

Monday, January 18, 2010

The 2010 RUSA Reading List Winners Announced

As I  mentioned last year here, I love that The Reference and User Services Association, a division of the ALA, has begun to release an adult reading lists each year at the Midwinter meeting (this year in Boston).

This meeting is already a well known awards event, as it is the place where all of the major children's awards are announced, (Newbery Medal, Caldecott, etc...) each year.

My friend and colleague, Joyce Saricks, was the chair of the Readling List committee this year and she sent me the press relase last night after the awards were announced.  It is now up on the RUSA Blog and ready to be shared with the world.

Below you can find the official press release.  But first, I want to comment on the way these awards are presented.  The committee not only selects winners and four "honor" books for each of the eight genres, but they also work very hard to write useful, appeal based annotations for each winner. They also provide a list of read-alikes for the winners.  The result is a list of great genre books for adult readers and a useful RA tool to use this year, and many years into the future.  In fact, here is the link to the past lists which I refer to often when helping patrons.

Enough from me, here is the press release...

--------------------------------------------------------------------


Winners of 2010 RUSA Award Announced

BOSTON—The Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) has announced its selection for the 2010 Reading List.

The Reading List annually recognizes the best books in eight genres: adrenaline (which includes suspense, thriller, and adventure), fantasy, historical fiction, horror, mystery, romance, science fiction, and women’s fiction. This year’s list includes novels that will please die-hard fans as well as introduce new readers to the pleasures of genre fiction.

The winning titles were selected by the Reading List Council, whose members include:
Joyce Saricks, Chair, Downers Grove, IL
Jennifer Baker, Seattle Public Library
Kathleen Collins, University of Washington Libraries, Seattle
Mari Miller-Lamb, Long Island University, Brooklyn
Jacqueline Sasaki, Vice-Chair, Ann Arbor District Library
Sharron Smith, Kitchener Public Library
Tapley Trudell, San Antonio Public Library
Kimberly Wells, Denton Public Library
Neal Wyatt, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA
Alan Ziebarth, Chicago Public Library



The 2010 winners are:

Adrenaline
Gone Tomorrow by Lee Child, Delacorte Press, 9780385340571
Lone wolf Jack Reacher takes on terrorism and Homeland Security as he stumbles onto the tail end of an Al Qaeda sting. Crossing politics, police departments, and an alphabet soup of federal agencies, Reacher cleans house. The non-stop tension, atmosphere of menace, and Reacher’s matter-of-fact narration create an immediate and believable thriller.
           
Read-Alikes: 
The John Rain series by Barry Eisler
The Bourne Identity by Robert Ludlum
Below Zero by C. J. Box

Short List:
Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell, Little, Brown, 9780316032223
The Neighbor by Lisa Gardner, Bantam, 9780553807233
Shatter by Michael Robotham, Doubleday, 9780385517911
The Tourist by Olen Steinhauer, Minotaur, 9780312369729

Fantasy
Lamentation by Ken Scholes, Tor, 9780765321275
When the city of Windwir is destroyed by an ancient weapon, tribes of the Named Lands flock to the desolation to battle an unknown foe. Elegiac in tone this compelling High Fantasy introduces readers to a complex new world.

Read-Alikes:
Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin
Wizards First Rule by Terry Goodkind
Acacia. Book One, The War With the Mein by David Anthony Durham

Short List:
The Red Wolf Conspiracy by Robert V. S. Redick, Del Rey, 9780345508836
Turn Coat by Jim Butcher, Roc, 9780451462565
Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson, Tom Doherty, 9780765320308
The Warded Man by Peter V. Brett, Del Rey, 9780345503800

Historical Fiction
Agincourt by Bernard Cornwell, Harper, 9780061578915
Vividly recreating the pageantry and violence of the 1400s, Cornwell takes readers into the heart of the soldiering class in this intimate retelling of the Battle of Agincourt. With a brisk pace and brilliant evocation of everyday life, he details the brutality of war and the lives of the men who fought.

Read-Alikes:
The Templar Trilogy by Jack Whyte
The Religion by Tim Willocks
Gates of Fire by Stephen Pressfield

Short List:
Cleopatra’s Daughter by Michelle Moran, Crown, 9780307409126
Etta by Gerald Kolpan, Ballantine, 9780345503688
Grace Hammer by Sara Stockbridge, W. W. Norton, 9780393067187
The Owl Killers by Karen Maitland, Delacorte Press, 9780385341707

Horror
Last Days by Brian Evenson, Underland Press, 9780980226003
In this deeply disturbing novel, the Brotherhood of Mutilation, a cult which gains wisdom through amputation, kidnaps a maimed detective and forces him to investigate the murder of a cult leader. Through spare language, a noir sensibility, and macabre humor, Evenson crafts a compulsively readable nightmare which asks, “How do you know the moment when you cease to be human?”
           
Read-Alikes:
Pilo Family Circus by Will Elliott
Misery by Stephen King
Crash by J. G. Ballard

Short List:
The House of Lost Souls by F. G. Cottam, St. Martin’s Press, 9780312544324
The Little Stranger by Sara Waters,  Riverhead Press, 9781594488801
The Séance by John Harwood, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 9780151012039
The Unseen by Alexandra Sokoloff, St. Martin’s Press, 9780312384708

Mystery
A Beautiful Place to Die by Malla Nunn, Atria, 9781416586203
During the early years of Apartheid Detective Emmanuel Cooper straddles the racial divide while investigating the murder a small town police captain. Set against the cinematic backdrop of the harsh South African landscape, Cooper’s inquiries uncover a web of secrets and lies. The spare prose and the intricate plot belie the novel’s emotional impact.

Read-Alikes:
A Carrion Death by Michael Stanley
Salamander Cotton by James McClure
Heat of the Sun, Distributed by PBS

Short List:
The Brutal Telling by Louise Penny, St. Martin’s Press, 9780312377038
The Dark Horse by Craig Johnson, Viking, 9780670020874
Dog On it by Spencer Quinn, Atria, 9781416585831
Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, by Alan Bradley, Delacorte Press, 9780385342308

Romance
What Happens in London by Julia Quinn, Avon, 9780061491887
Lady Olivia Bevelstoke and Sir Harry Valentine’s unconventional courtship begins when she is caught spying on him. Endearingly quirky characters, a windowsill romance, and laugh-out-loud scenes make this witty and charming story the perfect Regency romp.

Read-Alikes:
Goddess of the Hunt by Tessa Dare
The Winning Hand by Nora Roberts
Love Letters from a Duke by Elizabeth Boyle


Short List:
Chemistry for Beginners by Anthony Strong, Simon & Schuster, 9781439108475
Goddess of the Hunt by Tessa Dare, Ballantine, 9780345506863
The Temptation of the Night Jasmine by Lauren Willig, Dutton, 9780525950967
Vision in White by Nora Roberts, Berkley, 9780425227510

Science Fiction
The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi, Night Shade Books, 9781597801577
Bacigalupi constructs a sobering and nuanced of future Bangkok teetering on the edge of disaster. In this inhospitable environment, a disparate group of characters calculates how to survive. The novel’s gritty tone, provocative story line, and sympathetic characters evoke a world that is frightening real.

Read-Alikes: 
Distraction  by Bruce Sterling             
Brasyl  by Ian McDonald        
Accelerando by Charles Stross

Short List:
The Empress of Mars by Kage Baker, Tor, 9780765318909
Flood by Stephen Baxter, Penguin, 9780451462718
The Quiet War by Paul J. McAuley, Pyr, 9781591017810
Steal across the Skies by Nancy Kress, Tor, 9780765319869

Women’s Fiction
Very Valentine by Adriana Trigiani, Harper, 9780061257056
Thirty-something Valentine Roncalli seeks her future in the family=s exclusive hand-crafted wedding shoe company while juggling work and romance. Trigiani vividly captures both New York and Italy and infuses this novel with humor, warmth, and hope.
           
Read-Alikes:
Good in Bed by Jennifer Weiner
Bread Alone by Judith Ryan Hendricks
Greetings from Somewhere Else by Monica McInerney

Short List:
After You by Julie Buxbaum, Dial Press, 9780385341240
The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club by Gil McNeil, Hyperion, 9781401340803
Prayers for Sale by Sandra Dallas, St. Martin’s Press, 9780312385187
Shelter Me by Juliet Fay, Avon, 9780061673399

The Reference and User Services Association, a division of the American Library Association, represents librarians and library staff in the fields of reference, specialized reference, collection development, readers advisory and resource sharing. RUSA is the foremost organization of reference and information professionals who make the connections between people and the information sources, services, and collection materials they need.  Not a member, but  interested in discounted registration rates on conference, preconferences and other events? Join, renew or add RUSA to your ALA membership at www.ala.org/membership. Learn more about the association at www.ala.org/rusa.

No comments: