RA FOR ALL...THE ROAD SHOW!

I can come to your library, book club meeting, or conference to talk about how to help your readers find their next good read. Click here for more information.

Friday, October 12, 2018

Library Reads: November 2018

Well, my months of nudging you to vote for more diverse reads has worked. This month is the most inclusive list yet! As I said last month:
We need to keep finding inclusive titles, under the radar titles, titles that even we didn’t know about before giving them a try. Please look for books that could use the boost that Library Reads can give a title that your colleagues might not know about without that vote, especially more inclusive titles. 
Here you can find a link to a database by library professionals who are going through the digital ARCS and screening titles for you to choose from. Please consider starting here, not with the latest, imminent bestseller. Seriously, if you want to help, start at those databases, start by reading those titles. Try something new and if you like it, vote for it. 
Don’t start with a book you already know you are going to like. That is the worst thing you can do. We are trying to broaden everyone’s horizons-- patrons, yes, but also the publishers. We want to show them that more inclusive titles will resonate and sell. But, we need to start with ourselves first.

Keep it up. Good job.

But I also don't want you to spend too much time patting yourselves on the back because the reason this list is finally reaching truly inclusive levels is because of the work the Library Reads Steering Committee has done to improve the list.

One of the nagging problems with the list, especially after 5 years, is that the same authors were showing up over and over again, but last month Library Reads solved this problem by creating a Hall of Fame. This month there are 4[!] HoF authors [see below for details]. These are huge authors that library workers love and patrons love too. I get it that people are excited that Louise Penny et all have a new book coming out. Since Library Reads couldn't convince people to stop voting for these popular authors, they found a way to honor these authors but keep the list truly more about identifying more under the radar titles that no one would know about without us. 

Here's the thing though....without that HoF list, 4 of these titles wouldn't be here, and the number one title, a book I have had on hold for months, would not have been number 1. Actually I don't know this for sure, but looking at the HoF, I am going to make a very educated guess that they would have taken many of the top spots.

I am so proud of Library Reads for finding a way to keep the integrity of the list but allow more voices to be included.  But, now we need to keep up our end of the bargain and keep voting for titles that are less well known that we are excited about.

And now, the list...
_________________________________________________

Today is Library Reads day and that means three things here on RA for All:
  1. I post the list and tag it “Library Reads” so that you can easily pull up every single list with one click.
  2. I can remind you that even though the newest list is always fun to see, it is the older lists where you can find AWESOME, sure bet suggestions for patrons that will be on your shelf to actually hand to them right now. The best thing about Library Reads is the compound interest it is earning. We now have hundreds and hundreds of titles worth suggesting right at our fingertips.
  3. You have no excuse not to hand sell any Library Reads titles because there is a book talk right there in the list in the form of the annotation one of your colleagues wrote for you. All you have to say to your patron is, “such and such library worker in blank state thought this was a great read,” and then you read what he or she said.
    So get out there and suggest a good read to someone today. I don’t care what list or resource you use to find the suggestion, just start suggesting books.

    Also, please remember to click here for my Library Reads 101 recap for everything you need to know about how to participate. And click here to see a database of eligible diverse titles sorted by month.


    ********************************************

    November 2018 LibraryReads

    Don’t miss the November 2018 Hall of Fame Winners! Scroll down or visit the Hall of Fame page.




    My Sister,
    the Serial Killer:
    A Novel

    by Oyinkan Braithwaite

    Published: 11/20/2018 by Doubleday
    ISBN: 9780385544238
    “Nigerian nurse Korede puts up with so much from her sister Ayoola (the serial killer). Braithwaite tells a dark, lively, and funny story of how begrudgingly cleaning up after someone else’s deadly habits is just one of those things one does for family. For fans of satirical humor.”
    Lisa Hoffman, Bloomfield Public Library, Bloomfield NJ





    The Adults: A Novel

    by Caroline Hulse

    Published: 11/27/2018 by Random House
    ISBN: 9780525511748
    “Divorced couple Claire and Matt devise a terrific idea for Christmas: spend it at Happy Forest Holiday Park with their new partners and their seven-year-old daughter Scarlett (and her imaginary friend). Hilarious and heartrending, this debut novel asks the age-old question: ‘What could possibly go wrong?'”
    Todd Krueger, Baltimore County Public Library, Towson, MD

    The Best Bad Things: A Novel

    by Katrina Carrasco

    Published: 11/6/2018 by MCD/Farrar, Straus & Giroux
    ISBN: 9780374123697
    “Alma is a cross-dressing, bisexual, half-Mexican, badass woman who goes undercover in this historical fiction story set in 1887 Washington state. She lives life on the edge with gusto and nerve. An enjoyable ride for readers who like a fast-paced story and don’t mind graphic content.”
    Joseph Jones, Cuyahoga County Public Library, Cuyahoga, OH 

    The Colors of All the Cattle: No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency

    by Alexander McCall Smith

    Published: 11/6/2018 by Pantheon
    ISBN: 9781524747800
    “Each new book in this series unwraps another layer of the lives of the minor characters. Along with solving the requisite mystery, Precious delves into local politics and comes to rely more on her family and friends for their input. A charming addition to this heartwarming series.”
    Fran Hegarty, Peabody Institute Library of Danvers, Danvers, MA

    Empire of Sand

    by Tasha Suri

    Published: 11/13/2018 by Orbit
    ISBN: 9780316449717
    “A modern take on the classic Disney tale of Mulan, this fantasy-adventure story features Mehr, a governor’s daughter who wants to make a name for herself and is passionate about saving the lives of those in her kingdom. Mehr’s unique magical powers make her a target and give the classic storyline a new twist.”
    Megan Marong, Lackawanna Public Library, Lackawanna, NY

    How Long ‘Til Black Future Month: Stories

    by N. K. Jemisin

    Published: 11/27/2018 by Orbit
    ISBN: 9780316491341
    “This first short story collection from the most celebrated speculative fiction author of our time features her signature blend of sharply observed, provocative tales of magic steeped in realism and social commentary. Both SFF fans and adventurous readers of genre-blending literary fiction such as Station Eleven and The Underground Railroad will find much to admire.”
    Annabelle Mortensen, Skokie Public Library, Skokie, IL

    The Kinship of Secrets

    by Eugenia Kim

    Published: 11/6/2018 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
    ISBN: 9781328987822
    “A sweeping, historical, family saga in which two sisters are separated during the Korean War. One is raised in the United States and the other in South Korea. For fans of Pachinko.”
    Cat Ng, Palm Beach County Library System, Wellington, FL

    A Ladder to the Sky: A Novel

    by John Boyne

    Published: 11/13/2018 by Hogarth
    ISBN: 9781984823014
    “Enter the disturbing world of high stakes publishing and meet an author so twisted and unscrupulous you will beg for justice. For readers who like an unlikeable character and sardonic tone.”
    Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX 

    Newcomer: A Mystery

    by Keigo Higashino

    Published: 11/20/2018 by Minotaur Books
    ISBN: 9781250067869
    “Newly transferred Tokyo Police Detective Kaga is assigned a baffling murder. The story is told almost entirely through the perspective of people he interviews, gradually revealing the puzzling who, how, and why in this mystery. For fans of Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie and Columbo as well as lovers of international crime novels.”
    Julie Graham, Yakima Valley Libraries, Yakima, WA 

    Someone to Trust: A Westcott Novel

    by Mary Balogh


    Published: 11/27/2018 by Berkley/Jove
    ISBN: 9780399586101
    “Love defies societal expectations in this historical romance set in the Regency period. For fans of Tessa Dare and Amelia Grey.”
    Kathy Setter, Indianhead Federated Library System, Eau Claire, WI
    Four HoF Authors this month

    Kingdom of the Blind: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel

    by Louise Penny

    Published: 11/27/2018 by Minotaur Books
    ISBN: 9781250066206
    “Gamache tries to understand why someone connected to a mysterious will is killed, while he and Beauvoir race against time to stop a deadly shipment of drugs from hitting the streets. Penny digs deep into her familiar characters in what may be her most personal book.”
    David Singleton, Charlotte Mecklenberg Public Library, Charlotte, NC 

    Night of Miracles: A Novel

    by Elizabeth Berg

    Published: 11/13/2018 by Random House
    ISBN: 9780525509509
    “An equally delightful follow-up to The Story of Arthur Truluv. A heartwarming tale of life in a small town with an ensemble cast of likeable characters.”
    Claudia Silk, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

    Nine Perfect Strangers

    by Liane Moriarty

    Published: 11/16/2018 by Flatiron Books
    ISBN: 9781250069825
    “Can ten days at a special health resort change you forever? Can you lose weight, gain inner peace, become a better you? Nine people are thrown together at a remote health resort, with intriguing developments.”
    Jennifer Ohzourk, St. Louis Public Library, St. Louis, MO

    Past Tense: A Jack Reacher Novel

    by Lee Child Published: 11/6/2018 by Delacorte Press

    ISBN: 9780399593512
    “Another home run from Child. While visiting his father’s birthplace in New Hampshire, Reacher can’t help but intervene when a member of a local gang attempts to assault a waitress. He soon uncovers more suspicious happenings in the town. Fast-paced, great plot, and compelling characters.”

    Laura Scott, Park Ridge Public Library, Park Ridge, IL

    No comments: